Get your Bitcoin Card in Virgin Islands with one of these Crypto Card Providers:

Compare your Top 3 Bitcoin Card Providers
Choose Provider 1:
Choose Provider 2:
Choose Provider 3:

Best Bitcoin Card for Virgin Islands

The Virgin Islands are a Lesser Antilles archipelago between the Atlantic Ocean and the Caribbean. Politically, the Virgin Islands are divided between the American Virgin Islands and the British Virgin Islands. The seven larger and numerous smaller islands are located about 100 km east of Puerto Rico and almost 200 km west of Anguilla, and some of the Puerto Rican Passage Islands between Puerto Rico and the Virigin Passage are considered Spanish Virgin Islands.

The Virgin Islands were discovered by Christopher Columbus on his second voyage to the New World on 14 November 1493. He first named them “Santa Ursula y las Once Mil Vírgenes” (Saint Ursula and the eleven thousand virgins). The islands were taken in possession for the Spanish crown but were not populated. In the travel report of Diego Alvarez Chanca, who was travelling with him at that time, it says: “A whole group of islands rises out of the sea, some densely wooded, others quite rocky. The largest is called Columbus Santa Ursula, the other is called ‘Las Once Mil Virgenes'”.

The Virgin Islands were in the 17th century in English and Danish possession (Danish West Indies), the islands Tortola, Anegada and Virgin Gorda were at times Dutch possession. In 1917 the USA bought the Danish colonial property for 25 million dollars.

American Virgin Islands

The U.S. Virgin Islands (USVI; also the United States Virgin Islands or the American Virgin Islands, officially the Virgin Islands of the United States) are an archipelago of the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean, east of Puerto Rico. It consists of the three main islands Saint Croix, Saint John and Saint Thomas. Only in 1996 Water Island was added, beside it there are still numerous smaller islands. The islands are a non-incorporated American outer area.

The focus of the economy is on tourism. On average, 2 million tourists visit the islands every year. The industrial sector consists mainly of oil refineries. One of the world’s largest oil refineries is located on Saint Croix. International trade and the financial sector are a small but growing part of the economy. Agriculture is insignificant; most food has to be imported.

The climate is subtropical, tempered by easterly winds with low humidity and only slight temperature differences throughout the year. The rainy season is from May to November. But even here deviations are possible. The islands have been exposed to several tropical storms in recent years. Frequent are severe droughts or floods, occasionally earthquakes occur.

Origin of the name Christopher Columbus named the islands after Saint Ursula and the 11,000 Virgins (Spanish: Santa Úrsula y las Once Mil Vírgenes), shortened to the Virgins (las Vírgenes).

British Virgin Islands

The British Virgin Islands are an archipelago of the Lesser Antilles in the Caribbean east of Puerto Rico. They are a British overseas territory of the United Kingdom. 16 of the over 60 islands and reefs are inhabited. The climate is subtropical and humid, the temperatures are moderate due to winds. The economy, one of the most stable and prosperous in the Caribbean, is very heavily dependent on tourism. From the mid-1980s onwards, the administration offers companies the opportunity to be based on the islands with a mailbox company. The fees for setting up such companies became an important part of national income. Approximately 400,000 mailbox companies were registered on the islands at the end of 2000.