Get your Bitcoin Card in Solomon Islands with one of these Crypto Card Providers:

Compare your Top 3 Bitcoin Card Providers
Choose Provider 1:
Choose Provider 2:

Best Bitcoin Card for Solomon Islands

The island state of the Solomon Islands lies northeast of Australia and consists of two approximately parallel island rows in northeast-southwest direction, about 1,000 km long. In addition to the six main islands of Guadalcanal (6 475 km²), Santa Isabel (4 662 km²), New Georgia (4 144 km²), Malaita (4 071 km²), San Cristóbal (Makira, 3 188 km²) and Choiseul (2 538 km²), the national territory (land area 28 360 km², sea area approx. 600 000 km²) includes about 30 other islands (e.g.B. Vella Lavella, Ontong Java, Rennell, Bellona, Santa Cruz, Florida, Russell, Reef and Duff Islands) and numerous small and very small atolls. The islands Bougainville and Buka in the north belong geographically to the Solomon Islands, but are national territory of Papua New Guinea.

The larger Solomon Islands are of volcanic origin and predominantly mountainous. In many cases they are surrounded by coral reefs. The mountain ranges with partly still active volcanoes are partly strongly fissured and drop steeply. The highest elevation of the state is the Popomanaseu on Guadalcanal with 2 331 m. On Guadalcanal there is a wide coastal plain in the northeast, here is also the capital of the state, Honiara.

Political system

The Solomon Islands are a constitutional monarchy within the British Commonwealth of Nations. The constitution dates from 1978 and is headed by the British monarch Elisabeth II, who is represented locally by a governor general (since July 2009 Frank Kabui). The prime minister as head of government is usually the representative of the strongest party in parliament and is elected by it (since December 2014 Manasseh Sogavare).

The legislative power lies with the Parliament, which consists of a chamber with 50 seats. Deputies are directly elected by the people in one-person constituencies for four years. Right to vote from the age of 21. The Solomon Islands are divided into nine provinces and one capital district.


The Solomon Islands are dependent on foreign development aid. Agriculture is the backbone of the economy. Although only a small percentage of the country’s land can be used for agriculture, the climatic conditions are good. Coconuts, manioc, sweet potatoes, rice and bananas are the main crops grown for the country’s own needs. Agricultural products for export are mainly tropical wood, copra, palm oil, cocoa and fish. The export of tropical timber is the largest source of foreign currency in the country. However, mining is not sustainable, so resources will be used up in the foreseeable future and the land will no longer be usable due to soil erosion.

In the Solomon Islands there are deposits of gold, silver, copper, phosphate and zinc, which are only partially mined. Industry is poorly developed and accounts for 9% of GDP. There are mainly food processing companies (e.g. processing of spices).

Tourism plays a subordinate role due to the poor infrastructure and tensions between different population groups. The most important trading partners for exports are China, Australia and Thailand; imports (food, machinery, vehicles, fuels and consumer goods) come mainly from Australia and Singapore. The currency is the Solomon Islands dollar.